Month: June 2009

Cents 09-10 Schedule By the Numbers:

Just for fun, I thought I’d show how how the Centennials 2009-10 Regular Season breaks down in terms of the numbers:

60 – games played
44 – games against Interior Conference opponents
30 – games on the road
30 – games on home ice
18 – Saturday night games
17 – Friday night games
16 – games against Coastal Conference opponents
13 – games played in the month of October
12 – games played in the month of January
11 – games played in the month of November
10 – games played in the month of December
9 – Friday night home games
9 – Saturday night home games
9 – Saturday night road games
8 – Friday night road games
8 – games played in the month of February
7 – games against both Vernon and Trail
6 – games each against Penticton, Salmon Arm and Westside
6 – Sunday road games
6 – games played in the month of September
5 – longest stretch of road games (Twice: Nov. 14-22 in Langley, Nanaimo, Cowichan Valley, Victoria and Alberni Valley. Dec. 4-11 in Williams Lake, Quesnel, Prince George, Vernon and Trail)
5 – longest stretch of home games (Jan. 29-Feb 6 hosting Penticton, Salmon Arm, Nanaimo, Vernon and Cowichan Valley)
5 – Tuesday night home games
4 – Tuesday night road games
4 – games each against Prince George, Quesnel and Williams Lake
3 – Sunday afternoon home games
3 – Wednesday night home games
3 – Wednesday night road games
2 – games each against Alberni Valley, Burnaby, Cowichan Valley, Langley, Nanaimo, Powell River, Surrey and Victoria
1 – Thursday night home games
0 – Monday night home and road games

Former Cents Defenceman Curtis Gedig Drafted by New Jersey:


Curtis Gedig

A huge congratulations goes out to all five BCHL players drafted in this weekend’s NHL Entry Draft, but a special congrats goes to current Cowichan Valley and former Merritt defenceman Curtis Gedig (91), who was chosen in the seventh round, 204th overall by the New Jersey Devils.

Gedig, who was traded from the Cents to the Captials five days before the BCHL January 10th trade deadline for F Scott Jacklin (90) and D Jimmy Geerin (89), posted 18 points in 46 games as a rookie last season. The Penticton product is on the list of the WHL’s Calgary Hitmen, so it remains to be seen whether or not he’ll return to Cowichan Valley. I would now think that the Devils will have some say in where “Digger” plays next season.

Here’s a complete list of BCHL players selected, and where they wound up:

D Kyle Bigos (89) (fourth round, 99th overall by Edmonton)
F Spencer Bennett (90) (fifth round, 141st overall by Calgary)
F Curtis McKenzie (91) (sixth round, 159th overall by Dallas)
F Cam Reid (91) (seventh round, 192nd overall by Nashville)
D Curtis Gedig (91) (seventh round, 201st overall by New Jersey)

Cents 2009-10 Season Schedule:

Here’s the Centennials unofficial 2009-10 schedule, game times on the road are still to be determined, but the start times for the home games are accurate. And each game will be broadcast on Radio NL in Merritt with Alex Grebenyuk and on the BCHL Fanzone.

Friday September 11 – Trail @ Merritt 7:30 pm

Friday September 18 – Prince George @ Merritt 7:30 pm

Wednesday September 23 – Burnaby @ Merritt 7:00 pm

Friday September 25 – Merritt @ Powell River

Saturday September 26 – Merritt @ Burnaby

Tuesday September 29 – Penticton @ Merritt 7:00 pm

Saturday October 3 – Salmon Arm @ Merritt 7:30 pm

Sunday October 4 – Merritt @ Westside

Tuesday October 6 – Trail @ Merritt 7:00 pm

Friday October 9 – Alberni Valley @ Merritt 7:30 pm

Saturday October 10 – Merritt @ Penticton

Friday October 16 – Merritt @ Westside

Saturday October 17 – Westside @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Wednesday October 21 – Merritt @ Vernon

Friday October 23 – Quesnel @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Saturday October 24 – Trail @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Tuesday October 27 – Merritt @ Salmon Arm

Friday October 30 – Vernon @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Saturday October 31 – Merritt @ Penticton

Sunday November 1 – Surrey @ Merritt – 2:00 pm

Wednesday November 4 – Westside @ Merritt – 7:00 pm

Tuesday November 10 – Vernon @ Merritt – 7:00 pm

Friday November 13 – Langley @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Saturday November 14 – Merritt @ Langley

Wednesday November 18 – Merritt @ Nanaimo

Friday November 20 – Merritt @ Cowichan Valley

Saturday November 21 – Merritt @ Victoria

Sunday November 22 – Merritt @ Alberni Valley

Thursday November 26 – Williams Lake @ Merritt – 7:00 pm

Saturday November 28 – Quesnel @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Friday December 4 – Merritt @ Williams Lake

Saturday December 5 – Merritt @ Quesnel

Sunday December 6 – Merritt @ Prince George

Tuesday December 8 – Merritt @ Vernon

Friday December 11 – Merritt @ Trail

Tuesday December 15 – Victoria @ Merritt – 7:00 pm

Friday December 18 – Merritt @ Salmon Arm

Saturday December 19 – Powell River @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Sunday December 20 – Prince George @ Merritt – 2:00 pm

Wednesday December 30 – Merritt @ Trail

Saturday January 2 – Williams Lake @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Sunday January 3 – Merritt @ Westside

Tuesday January 5 – Merritt @ Vernon

Saturday January 9 – Merritt @ Trail

Friday January 15 – Penticton @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Saturday January 16 – Westside @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Sunday January 17 – Merritt @ Surrey

Friday January 22 – Merritt @ Williams Lake

Saturday January 23 – Merritt @ Prince George

Sunday January 24 – Merritt @ Quesnel

Friday January 29 – Penticton @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Sunday January 31 – Salmon Arm @ Merritt – 2:00 pm

Tuesday February 2 – Nanaimo @ Merritt – 7:00 pm

Friday February 5 – Vernon @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Saturday February 6 – Cowichan Valley @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Tuesday February 9 – Merritt @ Vernon

Friday February 12 – Merritt @ Salmon Arm

Saturday February 13 – Merritt @ Penticton

Wednesday February 17 – Salmon Arm @ Merritt – 7:00 pm

Saturday February 20 – Trail @ Merritt – 7:30 pm

Cents Won’t Be Compensated for Pistone:


(Tyler Pistone)

It now appears that the Centennials won’t receive any compensation for F Tyler Pistone (90) jumping to the Tri-City Storm of the US Hockey League. Pistone was born in Los Angeles and holds dual citizenship, meaning that he can leave the Canadian junior A ranks without his team receiving any compensation. Had he been a Canadian citizen, the Centennials would have received a cash transfer payment in return for him leaving the team to play in the US. You have to think that Nanaimo Clippers G-M Bill Bestwick knew of Pistone’s plans when he traded his rights to Merritt as the futures to complete the trade that brought F Matt Betker (89) to Nanaimo.

The Nanaimo Daily News has a great article on the Pistone story here.

The Centennials still own Pistone’s Canadian rights, should things not work out for him South of the border.

Cents Coach/GM Bouchard Speaks on Bodger & Pistone:

I had the chance to speak to Centennials head coach and GM Joey Bouchard regarding the acquisition of D Ryne Bodger (89) and F Tyler Pistone (90) as future considerations from trades with Powell River and Nanaimo respectively.

Cents Head Coach and GM Joey Bouchard
http://www.odeo.com/flash/audio_player_standard_gray.swf
Click here to download

All audio property of Radio NL (Merritt Broadcasting Ltd.)

Cents Acquire Pistone from Nanaimo:

Another future considerations trade has been completed by the Centennials, although it may net them a player that will not be on the roster come September.

The Cents received F Tyler Pistone (90) from Nanaimo as the futures to complete the deal that saw F Matt Betker (89) moved to the Clippers.

Pistone may never don a Centennials uniform because he’s made it clear to coach and GM Joey Bouchard that he’d like to try to play in the USHL with the Tri-City Storm, who made the Nanaimo product the first pick of the 15th round of the USHL draft last month.

If Pistone makes the jump to the USHL, the Centennials will be entitled to some type of compensation, whether it’s cash or another player. Or they can hang onto his junior ‘A’ rights in Canada. The other wrinkle in the story is that Pistone’s WHL rights lie with the Vancouver Giants, who may also want him in their lineup. The bottom line is that I wouldn’t hold my breath expecting Pistone skating for Merritt any time soon, but then again, this is hockey, stranger things have happened.