Doyle Cup Is No More After 2012:

After being awarded for the 28th time this spring, the Doyle Cup will cease to exist with the creation of a Western Canadian Junior ‘A’ Championship starting in 2013, hosted by the BCHL’s Nanaimo Clippers.

With the host team in 2013 being from the BCHL, there is a possibility that there could end up being two BC teams in the Royal Bank Cup, but the same thing could happen in the MJHL in 2014, the AJHL in 2015 and the SJHL in 2016, where two teams from the host league wind up at the national championship tournament.

Since the formation of the Doyle Cup in 1984, BCHL teams have an 18-9 record over AJHL teams and since the formation of the Pacific Centennial Cup Championship in 1971, BCHL teams have a 23-18 advantage.

Here’s a list of the leaders in Doyle Cup/Pacific Centennial Cup wins:

Vernon Lakers/Vipers – 8
Camrose Kodiaks – 5
Calgary Canucks – 3
Penticton Broncos/Knights – 3
Red Deer Rustlers – 3
Kelowna Buckaroos/Spartans – 2
St. Albert Saints – 2
Surrey Eagles – 2
Spruce Grove Mets – 2
Abbotsford Flyers – 1
Burnaby Express – 1
Chilliwack Chiefs – 1
Fort McMurray Oil Barons – 1
Fort Saskatchewan Traders – 1
Langley Eagles – 1
Merritt Centennials – 1
Nanaimo Clippers – 1
New Westminster Royals – 1
Olds Grizzlys – 1
Richmond Sockeyes – 1

And by year:

Pacific Centennial Cup
1971 – Red Deer Rustlers
1972 – Red Deer Rustlers
1973 – Penticton Broncos
1974 – Kelowna Buckaroos
1975 – Spruce Grove Mets
1976 – Spruce Grove Mets
1977 – Calgary Canucks
1978 – Merritt Centennials
1979 – Fort Saskatchewan Traders
1980 – Red Deer Rustlers
1981 – St. Albert Saints
1982 – St. Albert Saints
1983 – Abbotsford Flyers
1984 – Langley Eagles
Doyle Cup
1985 – Penticton Knights
1986 – Penticton Knights
1987 – Richmond Sockeyes
1988 – Calgary Canucks
1989 – Vernon Lakers
1990 – New Westminster Royals
1991 – Vernon Lakers
1992 – Vernon Lakers
1993 – Kelowna Spartans
1994 – Olds Grizzlys
1995 – Calgary Canucks
1996 – Vernon Vipers
1997 – South Surrey Eagles
1998 – South Surrey Eagles
1999 – Vernon Vipers
2000 – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
2001 – Camrose Kodiaks
2002 – Chilliwack Chiefs
2003 – Camrose Kodiaks
2004 – Nanaimo Clippers
2005 – Camrose Kodiaks
2006 – Burnaby Express
2007 – Camrose Kodiaks
2008 – Camrose Kodiaks
2009 – Vernon Vipers
2010 – Vernon Vipers
2011 – Vernon Vipers

Here’s the official release from the Canadian Junior Hockey League:

CJHL Announces Creation of Western Canadian Championship
Nanaimo, BC to Host Inaugural Event in 2013

Calgary, AB, January 16, 2012 – The Canadian Junior Hockey League is pleased to announce a new regional playoff format for its four western provinces beginning in 2013. The British Columbia Hockey League, Alberta Junior Hockey League, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League and Manitoba Junior Hockey League will move to a five-team tournament and crown the first-ever Western Canadian Champion.

The Western Canadian Championship will include a host team and the champion from each of the four western leagues. The 13-game tournament will include a round-robin schedule followed by two semifinal games and a championship game. The Western Canadian Champion and the runner-up will both represent Western Canada at the RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.

“Congratulations to the four western leagues on this significant step in the growth of Junior A hockey in Western Canada and across the country,” said CJHL Chairman Kirk Lamb. “The new championship format will create a tremendous opportunity to showcase our players, teams and communities and is yet another example of the strengthening relationship among Junior A leagues in Canada. I commend the four western leagues on partnering together in the development of this initiative.”

CJHL Chairman Kirk Lamb and the four western provinces are honoured to announce the hosting rights for the inaugural Western Canadian Championship in 2013 have been awarded to the BCHL community of Nanaimo, BC. The 2013 Western Canadian Championship will be held from April 26 to May 5.

“I want to congratulate Nanaimo on being selected to host the first Western Canadian Championship in 2013,” said BCHL commissioner John Grisdale. “I am extremely confident the host committee, the Clipper ownership group, their fans, the City of Nanaimo and the volunteers will work cohesively towards ensuring the championship is not only successful in Nanaimo, but the legacy left will provide a blueprint for the other Junior A leagues to follow.”

Nanaimo Clippers owner Ken Wagner is proud to bring the inaugural Western Canadian Championship to Nanaimo during a milestone season for the franchise.

“Hosting the Western Canadian Championship in conjunction with our 40th anniversary is a great way for the team and community to celebrate. I believe the Nanaimo Clippers are a flagship franchise in the CJHL and it is a true honour to be selected as the host city for the first-time event. Nanaimo offers the ultimate in hospitality, beautiful scenery and a strong volunteer base, which will result in a successful experience for everyone involved.”

The Western Canadian Championship will be hosted by the BCHL in 2013, followed by the MJHL (2014), AJHL (2015), and SJHL (2016). A Site Selection Committee will be responsible for selecting a host team annually, upon the recommendation of the host league.

About the Canadian Junior Hockey League: There are currently 10 leagues and over 130 teams competing in the Canadian Junior Hockey League. The goal of the CJHL is to enhance and expand development and exposure for its players in order to increase the number of opportunities to further their academic and hockey careers. The annual champion of the Canadian Junior Hockey League wins the RBC Cup.

About the RBC Cup: Since 1971, teams from across Canada have fought for the National Junior A Championship. The RBC Cup National Junior A Championship is currently an annual tournament between the Champions of the four regions within the CJHL and the Host Club in a quest to become the National Champion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s