Vernon Awarded 2014 RBC Cup Tournament:

For the fourth time ever, the RBC Cup National Junior ‘A’ championship tournament will be hosted by a BCHL franchise after Hockey Canada announced that Vernon was awarded the 2014 tournament at its AGM in Halifax this past weekend.

Nanaimo hosted in 1998, Prince George in 2007 and Victoria in 2009 and host BCHL teams have never won the championship. Vernon (then known as the Lakers) has hosted and won the Junior ‘A’ championship tournament before, in 1990 when it was called the Centennial Cup. 
Obviously this is a huge recruiting tool for the Vipers as any players committing to them, especially for the 2013-14 season, knows that they may have the chance to compete for a national championship. 
Vernon is the most successful team at the RBC Cup since it began in 1996, winning four out of 17 titles. 
Here’s the media release from Hockey Canada, with the portion regarding the RBC in bold: 
HALIFAX, N.S. – Hockey Canada’s 93rd Annual General Meeting (AGM), attended by more than 250 delegates from across the country, wrapped up Sunday at the Westin Nova Scotian after three days of discussion about what will benefit the growth and development of Canada’s game.
Hockey Canada’s 2012 AGM brought together the governing body’s board of directors, officers, life members, partner organizations and representation from all 13 branches, as well as from councils that oversee female hockey, junior hockey, minor hockey, senior hockey and hockey development.
The board, as elected for the 2012-13 season, will be comprised of the 13 branch presidents, as well as:
Chairman: Michael J. Bruni, QC (Calgary, Alta.)
Executive vice-chair: Jim Hornell (Grand Falls, N.L.)
Claude Allain (Gatineau, Que.)
Michael Brind’Amour (St-Charles-Borromée, Que.)
Joe Drago (Sudbury, Ont.)
Terry Ledingham (Bon Accord, Alta.)
Ed Pupich (Schumacher, Ont.).
Past chair: Ken Corbett (Winnipeg, Man.)
Joanne Hughes, Female Council (Cole Harbour, N.S.)
Barry Reynard, Hockey Development Council (Dawson Creek, B.C.)
Karen Phibbs, Junior Council (London, Ont.)
John Clements, Minor Council (Burlington, Ont.)
Dean Filane-Figliomeni, Senior Council (Schreiber, Ont.)
Ron Robison, Canadian Hockey League (Calgary, Alta.)
Advisor: James Mays, referee-in-chief (Prince Albert, Sask.)
Caroline Ouellette, female athlete representative (Montreal, Que.)
Gord Sherven, male athlete representative (Weyburn, Sask.)
Jean Labonté, sledge hockey representative (Ottawa, Ont.)
The Hockey Canada AGM delegates also recognized and thanked departing branch presidents and board members Shannon Bell (BC Hockey), Tom Donovan (Hockey New Brunswick), Brian Franklin (Hockey Manitoba) and Gene Power (Hockey P.E.I.), as well as one member of the advisory council Murray Costello (international director/IIHF Council member),
Developments at this year’s AGM included:
• the loyalty program/ Club Hockey Canada on schedule for a 2012-13 launch;
• continued progress and discussion on a renewed governance framework being developed for 2014;
• the Junior A pilot program for 2011-12 has been extended for two years for further research, with the immediate addition of stronger regulations to reduce fighting and on-ice violence;
• branch updates, constructive discussion and positive feedback on the implementation of the zero tolerance contact to the head rules in minor and female hockey across Canada in 2011-12;
• updates on Hockey Canada’s priorities: recruitment and retention, technology and e-learning.
Host communities approved by Hockey Canada’s board of directors at the 2012 Hockey Canada AGM, subject to final agreements with host communities, were:

• 2014 Esso Cup – Stoney Creek/Hamilton, Ont.
• 2014 RBC Cup – Vernon, B.C.

Hockey Canada’s Annual General Meeting kicked off Thursday, May 24 and included a banquet on the evening of Friday, May 25 that honoured nine deserving award recipients who have all had a significant impact on the hockey community.
The 2013 Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting will be hosted in Charlottetown, P.E.I.
For more information on Hockey Canada, its teams, events and programs, please visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s