Inaugural Western Canada Cup Starts Today:

The inaugural Western Canada Cup opens today in Nanaimo with two games on tap.

The first game sees the BCHL champion Surrey Eagles face off against the AJHL champion Brooks Bandits at 2 pm while the second game has the SJHL champion Yorkton Terriers against the host Nanaimo Clippers at 7 pm. Both games are at the Frank Crane Arena and are broadcast on
A number of the individual teams are also broadcasting the games online, so that’s an option as well.
Here’s the release from the Canadian Junior Hockey League on the broadcasts:
The host committee for the 2013 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup announced today that every game throughout the inaugural event will be broadcast live on FASTHockey!  Fans will have the opportunity to watch the action as it happens or view the archive of all 13 games at any time.

FASTHockey’s video platform boasts breathtaking video; instant game archival for on-demand playback; personal video recorder like features including the ability to pause, rewind, or fast forward a live game; user generated instant replays allowing fans to create and save their own highlights, and full social integration.   

FASTHockey uses a unique game credit system for viewing games, which offers discounts to customers who watch multiple games and provides the freedom and flexibility to watch any FASTHockey content live or on-demand.  In order to access FASTHockey, users must first sign up for a free account at  Users can then buy one or more game credits – a single game ranges from $7.99 (when one game credit is purchased) to $5.99 (when 50 game credits are purchased). Game credits can be used to watch live games or archives on-demand and never expire.

The 2013 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup will be held from April 26 – May 5, 2013 at the Frank Crane Arena in Nanaimo, BC and hosted by the Nanaimo Clippers and the BCHL. The champions of the British Columbia Hockey League, Alberta Junior Hockey League, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, and Manitoba Junior Hockey League will participate in a five-team tournament with the host Nanaimo Clippers for the 2013 Western Canada Cup at the inaugural event. The Western Canada Cup Champion and the runner-up will both represent western Canada at the RBC Cup National Junior A Championship. 

Here’s a release from the BCHL sizing up all the teams at the WCC:

Since it’s a first-ever event and a few of the teams are coming from a long way away, there are a lot of unknowns going into the inaugural Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup.

As far as the on-ice questions go, again, it’s the top-two teams at the WCC that go to the RBC Cup in Summerside, PEI.

We’ll now highlight the names you’ll be sure to hear about with a brief rundown of who to look for when the puck drops.

Steinbach Pistons – Won the Manitoba Junior Hockey League title (Turnbull Trophy) with a 4-2 series win in the finals over the Dauphin Kings.

Top scorer, regular season: Richard Olson (63 GP, 37G, 30A, 38 PIM)
Top scorer, playoffs: Justin Dalebozik (19 GP, 10G, 16A, 6 PIM)
Blueline leader: Kyle Rous (19 GP, 3G, 10A, 16 PIM in playoffs)
#1 Goalie: Corey Koop (12-7, 2.46 GAA, .924 sv% in playoffs)

Yorkton Terriers – Won the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League title (Canalta Cup) with a 4-2 series win in the finals over the Humboldt Broncos.

Top scorer, regular season: Nathan Murray (54 GP, 14G, 28A, 111 PIM)
Top scorer, playoffs: Tyler Geibel (17 GP, 6G, 9A, 17 PIM)
Blueline leader: Brady Norrish (17 GP, 6G, 5A, 2 PIM in playoffs)
#1 Goalie: Dawson MacAuley (12-5, 1.94 GAA, .932 sv% in playoffs)

Brooks Bandits – Won the Alberta Junior Hockey League title (Gas Drive Cup) with a 4-1 series win in the finals over the Spruce Grove Saints.

Top scorer, regular season: Cam Maclise (59 GP, 27G, 56 A, 18 PIM)
Top scorer, playoffs: Maclise (17 GP, 10G, 9A, 16 PIM)
Blueline leader: Maddison Smiley (17 GP, 6G, 8A, 15 PIM in playoffs)
#1 Goalie: Michael Fredrick (12-5, 2.18 GAA, .921 sv% in playoffs)

Nanaimo Clippers – Qualified as event hosts

Top scorer, regular season: Greg Fraser (54 GP, 19G, 40A, 70 PIM)
Top scorer, playoffs: Trevor Fitzgerald (5 GP, 2G, 4A, 6 PIM)
Blueline leader: Brock Maschmeyer (5GP, 0G, 4A, 4 PIM in playoffs)
#1 Goalie: Jayson Argue (2-2, 2.50 GAA, .919 sv% in playoffs)

Surrey Eagles – Won the British Columbia Hockey League title (Fred Page Cup) with a 4-2 series win in the finals over the Penticton Vees.

Top scorer, regular season: Brady Shaw (54 GP, 38G, 32A, 53 PIM)
Top scorer, playoffs: Michael Stenerson (17 GP, 8G, 12A, 8 PIM)
Blueline leader: Craig Wyszomirski (17 GP, 3G, 7A, 28 PIM)
#1 Goalie: Michael Santaguida (14-3, 1.65 GAA, .955 sv% in playoffs)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s