2013-14 BCHL Regular Season Award Winners Announced:

On the eve of the 2014 Fred Page Cup playoffs, the BCHL has announced the regular season award winners.

Here’s the release from the league:

The votes are in and the BCHL is announcing the league award winners for the 2013-14 season. With the three-division alignment the league is in this season, there was one winner chosen per award league-wide as opposed to one from each conference as in previous seasons.

The winners were chosen after a poll of the league’s head coaches and play-by-play broadcasters.

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player:
Landon Smith, forward, Salmon Arm SilverBacks

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year:
Danton Heinen, forward, Surrey Eagles

Defensive Award – Top Defenceman:
Brett Beauvais, Penticton Vees

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Danton Heinen, forward, Surrey Eagles

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Bobby Henderson, Langley Rivermen

Non-voting awards:
Brett Hull Trophy – Top Scorer (tie):
Landon Smith, Salmon Arm SilverBacks (43 G, 40 A, 83 points)
Myles Fitzgerald, Victoria Grizzlies (27 G, 56 A, 83 points)

Goaltending Award (Lowest GAA of all goalies with 1,000 minutes played):
Jeff Smith, Powell River Kings – 2.25 GAA

Wally Forslund Trophy (Goalie duo with lowest-combined GAA)
Olivier Mantha and Hunter Miska, Penticton Vees – 2.27 GAA combined

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s