Notes from 2014 CJHL Annual General Meeting:

The Canadian Junior Hockey League held its Annual General Meeting on Thursday and although there are a number of items of note from the meeting, I’d say not as eventful as last year. 

Last year saw the league introduce a number of regulations and initiatives related to everything from players refusing to report after a trade and payment of players to a “return-to-team” rule and a transfer freeze during the holiday season.
I’m a big fan of the introduction of a CJHL All-Academic Team and look forward to finding out the criteria to determine the players selected. More scholarship money is always a good thing.

I’m also curious to see what the role of the executive director is.

Here’s the release from the CJHL:

The Canadian Junior Hockey League held its Annual General Meeting on May 29th in Calgary, AB. The CJHL Board discussed several new initiatives designed to strengthen the national organization for its member leagues, teams and athletes. 
Additionally, the CJHL would like to recognize the contributions and dedication of CJHL Vice President of Communications Charla Flett for all the work she had done on behalf of the organization.  She was greatly appreciated and will be sorely missed.

The CJHL will enter the 2014-2015 season with several new initiatives, including the following:

– The introduction of a Canadian Junior Hockey League All-Academic Team  
– The introduction of ten $500 scholarships to be awarded to the All-Academic Team nominees  
– 2016 RBC Cup awarded to Lloydminster, Alberta  
– The hiring of a new Executive Director to run the day to day operations of the CJHL  
– A new brand, communication & media strategy designed deliver the CJHL message and tag line, “Your FUTURE is here”

The CJHL serves on a number of Hockey Canada committees related to the development of hockey such as:

– Hockey Canada Canadian Development Model Committee
– USAH-HC Relations Committee
– Non-Sanctioned Leagues Committee
– Hockey Canada Hockey Violence and Sanctions Committee
– Release Fee Committee

The CJHL will continue to be led by CJHL President and Chairman Kirk Lamb and the following representatives: 

– CJHL Management Committee: Ryan Bartoshyk (AJHL), John Grisdale (BCHL), Kevin Abrams (CCHL), Derryl Smith (MHL), Kirk Lamb (CJHL) 
– CJHL Treasurer: Rob Mazzuca (NOJHL) 
– CJHL Executive Director: Rick Morocco
The CJHL, in partnership with Hockey Canada, will host its premier events in Western Canada in 2014-2015. The 2014 World Junior A Challenge will be hosted by Kindersley, SK while Portage la Prairie, MB will be the host community for the 2015 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s